BLOG

Datsik | Music Photography

Datsik came through Boulder the other night and for the first time in a while I got to take some photos just for fun. The show had sold out pre-sale and while we hadn’t been booked for the night, I couldn’t help but take the opportunity to shoot something without any pressure to deliver. This is something that sounds trivial until you realize you haven’t done it in months.


I guess casual shooting a bit immediately reminded me where things started–at the fox, with one lens, one body and almost zero light where you want it, when you want it. This is the struggle of the music photographer but I gotta say it makes things more interesting in a way. Where now a days, on a pay job, I’ll be lining the place with flashes and coordinating with the lighting technician, but then again, that’s not always doable. Sometimes you don’t get to go to any length to get the shot, and instead it’s simply about being at the right place at the right time and doing your part. I’ve gotta have my settings dialed and have my focused locked at that split second that the lighting guy is actually awake and hope it comes out right. This is not an easy place to be for someone that is expected to deliver something special to a client but for the casual shoot it’s a great way to challenge yourself.

I don’t think I ended up with anything exceptional–a few good moments for blog content maybe. But there’s something about going through the motions and just enjoying the process that I tend to miss in my pay work. It’s nice to shoot without having to get wrapped up in the results. When there are budgets on the line and release dates to make, there’s not as much room for stopping to smell the roses. A refreshing night!

Thanks for listening.

Leave a comment